Senior Research & Internship

Latest News

The National Merit Scholarship Program is an annual academic competition for recognition and scholarships.  Over 1.6 million students entered the competition last October by completing the PSAT during their junior year of high school.  Of those, less than 1% are selected as semi-finalists.  The semi-finalists are the highest scoring students in each state.

Congratulations to the following National Merit Semi-finalists, who are also KMHS magnet students:

Madelyn Focaracci

Auburn Ford

Connor Truono


Congratulations to the following Magnet students who are named as 2016 KMHS Hall of Fame honorees:

Zoie Barnhill

Haley Biggins

Alexis Clark

Sydney Johnson

Anna Jung

David Wright

Sara Zimmerman

Officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation have announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 61st annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Fifty-six Semifinalists were named from the Cobb County School District. The national pool of Semifinalists represents less than one percent of US high school seniors. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,400 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring.

Congratulations to the National Merit Semifinalists who represent Kennesaw Mountain High School:

David Hammett

Trevor Head

Alexander Iyabor

Russell Puffer

Henry Woodrow

Samantha Zhan-Moodie

Congratulations to the following students for becoming eligible for the 800 Club for perfect subject scores on the SAT or ACT:

Name Test Grad. Year
Alex Blinkhorn SAT Reading 2016
Alexis Clark ACT Reading 2016
Kallista Dentice ACT Science 2016
Sean Engelstad ACT Math, SAT Math and Math 2 2017
John Erskine ACT Science 2016
Madelyn Focaracci ACT Reading and Math 2017
Eman Haddad SAT Math and Writing 2016
David Hammett SAT Writing 2016
Trevor Head SAT Reading, Math, Writing, Chemistry, Physics and Math 2
ACT Math and Science
Andrew Henderson SAT Reading 2016
Joshua Henson ACT Science 2016
Alex Iyabor SAT Reading, Writing and Math 2 2016
Allison Juback SAT Math 2; ACT Science 2016
Elvis Kahoro ACT Science 2016
Vangeli Katsoudas SAT Math 2016
Roshan Kudva SAT Math 2016
Omkar Mayur SAT Math and Math 2 2016
Spencer McAllister SAT Writing 2016
Caitlin Oh ACT Reading 2016
Andy Stevens SAT Math 2; ACT Science 2016
Julia Strother SAT Reading, ACT Reading & English 2016
Zachary Taylor SAT Math 2016
Connor Truono ACT Science,  SAT Math 2017
Kenny Wardlaw SAT Math 2 2016
Henry Woodrow SAT Reading, Math and Math 2; ACT Math and Science 2016
David Wright SAT Math; ACT Reading, Science, & Composite 2016
Chloe Yeates ACT Reading 2016
Samantha Zhan-Moodie ACT Reading 2016